An individual charged with driving under the influence in Arizona could face stiff penalties, including fines, jail time, license suspension and mandatory community service. Here’s what people in Arizona should know about the statewide DUI laws.
What are the statewide DUI laws in Arizona?
In Arizona, a person might be arrested for a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, measures 0.08 or higher. A person might be pulled over if an officer suspects that they’re driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Once they’ve been pulled over, the officer has permission to administer a sobriety test. If they fail the test, they might be charged with a DUI and subject to various penalties.
What are the penalties for driving under the influence?
The punishment for driving under the influence can vary according to the severity of the crime. If it’s a first offense, the individual might receive a minimum of 10 days in jail and a $1,250 fine. They might also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle, which requires them to pass a BAC test before they can turn on the vehicle. The judge might also order mandatory community service.
For more severe charges, the person could receive months in jail, massive fines and mandatory treatment for alcoholism. They might also have to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle and perform mandatory community service. Their license could also be suspended or revoked.
Where can a person go for assistance with a DUI case?
After being charged with driving under the influence, an individual might want to hire an attorney to help them prepare their defense. The attorney may be able to help them protect their rights in court and present the best possible defense to the judge.